Uncategorized

New Year, New Plans!

Happy New Year everyone!

I’ve had such a busy time with Christmas and New Year and little time to myself, thankfully now I have had a chance to sit down and think about my crafty plans for 2015!

Initially when I learnt to knit and crochet, I was making for fun, and didn’t have a clear sense of direction.  I started by making gifts for friends and family and was encouraged by their reactions to start up in business, selling through craft fairs.

Towards the end of last year, I was considering giving up, as I had a lot of positive reaction, and some good sales, but these were intermittent and I felt that I hadn’t really found my niche.

I live in a part of England which is fairly poor (apart from the beautiful spa city of Bath) and although there are some artistic, crafty areas, there are also a lot of people who do not appreciate good quality handmade gifts.

I have spent a lot of time pondering what I want to do, and it is amazing how many factors you have to consider in making a decision!  The outcome of my ruminations that I loved what I was doing, enjoyed working with quality fabrics and yarns, with a quirky / geeky edge, but that I was spreading myself too thinly and not really focused on my ‘brand’.

So I have make some big decisions!

1. Honing my brand – I will be focusing on accessories and homewares.  As I am the Imelda Marcos of bags I will have a particular focus on these!

2. Starting to sell online and limit my face-to-face selling to those that I really feel I will benefit from

3. Going to sell off my remaining stock at discounted prices

4. My (huge) stash of yarn will be used up bit-by-bit on these accessories

5. Going to spend a lot of time thinking about Chester Bunnynuts as a brand and try to do a more professional job at marketing myself – part of that is writing more regular blogs, learning more about business and developing my skills in all areas.

So I think that’s enough thinking for now, and some action is required…  I have a week off in February, which I am really looking forward to.  I’m going to spend some time now deciding on the best marketplace for my goods – there are so many options from Etsy and Folksy to via my blog / my own website or eBay.

Where to start!?  If you have any experiences or advice on selling online it would be very gratefully received!

Happy crafting!

Lou x

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

