Uncategorized

Works in Progress and looking to the past…

Morning all!

What a lovely weekend it’s been so far – I had an extra day off on Friday and it has made such a difference.  Spent this morning dancing and singing around the house like a whirling dervish.  That’s what happens when you put on your Britpop CD rather than getting on with writing your blog…

I’ve been happily getting on with some long overdue gifts, including my first project for myself!  I recently posted about my Dad’s ‘Hombre for Ombre’ scarf, which he loves, but realised I had neglected to list the yarn used – it was Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran which I bought at my temple – the wonderful Peter Jones (a John Lewis shop at Sloane Square, London).

This amazing shop is so much quieter than the John Lewis on Oxford Street, yet the range of goods (especially wool / haberdashery) is fabulous – and the Christmas decorations are to be seen to be believed.  Mum and I do an annual pilgrimage every early December for presents and atmosphere (perhaps also a bit of cake!)

IMG_0588 IMG_0586 IMG_0584

As discussed in my last post I had finished an Infinity scarf for Mum – ssh, she doesn’t know about it yet – made in the same Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran as Dad’s scarf.  I think this is the quickest scarf I have ever crocheted.  If you haven’t already had a go at an Infinity scarf just do it, you can knock one up in an evening or two…  This is just alternate rows of double crochet and treble crochets (UK terms).  Finish at around 60 inches, and flip one end over before sewing up – this enables you to wrap it around your neck so it lies flat and can either be wrapped double or triple to make a real neck warmer…

IMG_20150125_105131 IMG_20150125_105141

When I first started knitting I made Dad a simple ribbed scarf from Lanas Stop Top Merino which I bought in Wool, a lovely knitting shop in the beautiful Spa City of Bath, which I am lucky to live very near to.  This was my first attempt at knitting and I was actually quite pleased with the outcome.  As with all handmade things it has a few quirks (I don’t like to call them mistakes!) but that adds to its charm in my opinion…  I must admit this was my favourite yarn so far to knit with, it was just gorgeous.

2012-12-23_14.52.34_medium2

My brother and Mum also benefited from knitted gifts in the early days – these were both from patterns on Ravelry – on the left Concombre – I called it ‘Concombre en Bleu’ – as a French scholar my brother appreciated this.  This was made in Rico Soft Merino Aran, again bought at Wool.  Lovely to work with and holds its shape well.  He was so appreciative of the hard work that he only wore it on special occasions…  I told him to not be daft and get on and wear it…

Mum’s scarf ‘Easy on the Eye’ from Easy Eyelet pattern on Ravelry was made in Jarol Heritage 4 Ply which I bought in the bargain bin at my local haberdashery shop (don’t tell Mum!) – I  must admit I found it hard knitting with a much thinner yarn…

2012-12-23 13.29.242013-04-28 21.23.14

I do have a hankering to do more knitting, so this will be my next plan – I have two classes coming up mid February at my local haberdashery shop – Intermediate Crochet Cables and Intermediate Knitting – so hopefully will learn lots of great new techniques from those.

Finally I have to post another work in progress – I have never made anything for myself so finally took the plunge.  I bought some Sirdar Americana DK in the reduced bin at my local haberdashery (again – I love a bargain!) and it wasn’t until I started making myself a wrap that I realised this yarn crochets up to something much more beautiful than expected.

IMG_20150125_105338 IMG_20150125_105404

This pattern is from Red Heart on Ravelry – it looks so pretty with a variegated yarn.  I can’t wait to finish it so I can enjoy the fruit of my efforts for the first time…

Happy crafting!

Lou x

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

