Uncategorized

Exciting Etsy plans

Morning all – just a quick update…

I have made a rather monumental decision – I’m going to open an Etsy shop!

The last few weeks have been a bit of a reflective time – with the cold weather and lack of funds post-Christmas I’ve put in considerable hours considering what path I want to follow to sell my products.

I live in a part of the UK that is not particularly geared up for crafts – I have attended some craft fairs but have found the results to be patchy.  It seems that I get a lot of positive comments, but that doesn’t always transpose into sales.

For some time I’ve been thinking about the different online communities and also how I can back up the route I choose with social media.  There are so many pros and cons of the different options available, it has been quite challenging to finally make up my mind!

Although Etsy is quite big, and I think you can easily get lost there, I have heard lots about the great community and backup from Etsy UK.  I’ve also decided to rationalise my makes into mainly accessories – hand knitted and crocheted bags, wraps, scarves, gloves, hats etc.  I also have some sewn bags which I will also put on Etsy and see how they go!

Now my decision has been made I am planning my makes, pricing and shop policies and then will be setting up a (hopefully) speedy production line – difficult when I work full-time!  I have a week off after Easter and am planning to open the shop perhaps in late April / early May.

Has anyone else had any experience of selling on Etsy or other marketplaces online?  How did it go?  What did you think of the results?

Happy crafting!

Lou x

Standard

2 thoughts on “Exciting Etsy plans

Say, or say not... There is no try.

