Uncategorized

Fabulous Frome!

One of my most favourite places, living in the West Country, is Frome.

frome027big

I’m very spoilt, residing in Wiltshire, within very easy reach of Bath with all its Georgian splendour.  Although I live in a fairly nondescript town, if I travel outside, within a five minute drive in any direction I’m surrounded by lush countryside.

Frome, though, has a special place in my heart as a keen crafter.  Every month there are craft fairs run at the Cheese and Grain venue, which I have attended both as a punter and as an occasional stall holder!  I particular enjoy the occasional Vintage Fabric Fairs run by the brilliant Vintage Bazaar.  My only disappointment is having to wait for several months for the next one…

Every time I wander up the gorgeous cobbled Catherine Street, it does not surprise me that Frome was judged as one of the best places to live in the UK in 2014.  Catherine Street is full of gorgeous shops, as a keen knitter / crocheter of course Marmalade Yarns is the first stop.  The staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly, Maxine certainly has some interesting ideas for displaying her yarn (broom handle alert!) which caught my attention and lead of course to another purchase…

download (1)

Mary Kilvert has the most beautiful shop towards the top of the shop, I have had my eye on several beauties from here for some time.

Right up at the top is a wonderful resource for keen Astro Geeks like myself, MC2 astronomy shop is full of astronomical binoculars, telescopes and gadgets galore!

Back down towards Marmalade Yarns is Millie Moon, a lovely haberdashery with some beautiful trimmings, I can rarely walk past without purchasing a few bits and bobs.

Finally, being diverted on the way back to my car, I have established my new choice pick for Frome – Figgins – a haven of randomness, where I managed to indulge my geeky whim with some Star Wars drinks coasters.

So, come and visit Frome and enjoy the all-encompassing geeky craftiness of this lovely Somerset town.

Happy crafting!

Lou x

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

