Uncategorized

WIPs and a mystery project…

Afternoon all…

What a week it’s been – a funeral, a manic week at work, grumpy cat and very little time to myself.  So now the weekend is here, phew!  And lots of lovely plans afoot.

Thought I would share a few of these with you, including some of my WIPs.

I’ve been asked to do a Craft Fair in Devon, my friend’s lovely Mum has offered us both a table.  So I have had to make some quick plans to make some Spring gifts (unfortunately it’s the week after Easter!).

These flower headbands sold so well I don’t have any left so am frantically crafting some more in various girlie colours in sizes from baby to adult…

IMG_20150328_142330

 

IMG_20150328_142355

I made some Spring baskets in pinks, greens and then realised that I never make any boy-ish colours.  So I found some blue variegated yarn and started making these ones.  I had a very small amount left of a peach speckled yarn which came out so beautifully I had to give that one away to a friend for her granddaughter (and didn’t get a photo of it, damn!).  The yarn was given to me and I didn’t think I’d ever find it again.

Imagine my surprise when I was lazily daydreaming in the ever-reliable Wool Warehouse, and I found it!  This fabulous package turned up today (as if I really need any more wool – I haven’t updated my Ravelry stash as I’m rather frightened of how many skeins I have hanging around at the moment!)

 

IMG_20150328_142438

 

 

This was THE peach yarn!  King Cole Splash DK – bargaintastic price as well at £2.99 for 100g.  And wowzers – they do it in all sorts of colours including a fabulous blue mix and this rather mental combination called ‘Sunshine’ (for which you need sunglasses so I prefer to call it ‘Headache’).

 

IMG_20150328_142541

The colours aren’t really adequately expressed in this dreary dank natural light.  Imagine a neon nightmare including a bag of Refreshers smashed together and sprinkled with pixie dust.  Well, that doesn’t even cover it.  It’s mad, but I kinda love it!

IMG_20150328_142506

I also got some more Rowan Creative Focus Worsted (above) – in other exciting news, plans for my Etsy shop are coming along nicely, although I am rethinking my start date as I have two holidays coming up which are going to put my original dates under pressure.

For this lovely yarn (which I also have in Fuschia) I am going to knit (yes, I know, I will be brave and practice!) some handbags.  I am awaiting some lovely bamboo handles which are coming from China (via Ebay).

IMG_20150328_142215

This scarf is a wedge stitch scarf in James C. Brett’s Marble Chunky – I rarely work in Acrylic as I find it too uncomfortable next to the skin, and not always of the best quality.  But this is a quality yarn, bought in my fave shop, Marmalade Yarns, in Frome, is really lovely to work with and the colours are amazing.  As a geek, I thought I’d give this finished scarf a suitably geeky name – Wedge’s Antilles Scarf.  Get it?  If not, it might take a geek to explain!

Finally my other work in progress at the moment is a secret mystery project – what on earth will these covered curtain rings become?  Answers on a postcard…

IMG_20150328_142059

Happy crafting!  Lou x

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

