Uncategorized

Devon, Crafting Genii and Tiny Ponies

Well, what a lovely weekend it was!

Spring had definitely sprung and I had a wonderful time in Devon.

My friend Anna and I packed up the car and left at 6am – getting in there for 8.30 ready to set up our stall at the Craft Fair.  It was reasonably busy in the morning and I did pretty well.  Then, a mini disaster…

The drains in the hotel blocked up and they in turn blocked off the front door (where we were) so we had much less passing custom in the afternoon.  So we had to make our own amusement!

I had an impromptu drop spinning class from the brilliant Jean and Martin from Kaeravel Krafts and made just a few purchases of their gorgeous products, and one day I will understand the terminology – carrier rods, silk noil, burrs and nepps!

 

118799-2db6b101481042959cc07ccdb550ef4f 118799-ad91a0d9706a4f9bb3ea83a2a9c44c26

 

118799-d2abcff153954ac89a7a45eaeb73152a

 

 

I also met Richard Albon, a phenomenally talented artist, and bought a few things (which I can’t share here as certain people may see them!) but I really do recommend his site, particularly for those amongst us who are animal lovers.

So, a lovely, but not quite so productive, day was had by all.  And I did learning something interesting, again I have managed to sell all of my girls’ headbands – this was one line I was going to give up making when I sell online, but now I’m not so sure!

 

2014-06-10 12.20.18 2014-06-10 12.20.43

 

I crawled into bed at 9pm, absolutely shattered!  What a comfortable night I spent at the gorgeous Farleigh Cottage B&B in Chagford, run by the lovely Lyn, who looked after us so well and furnished us with the most wonderful cooked breakfast on Sunday morning.

Just enough time then to pop to the Miniature Pony Centre Dartmoor on the way back, what a well organised and fun place to visit.  We arrived at the perfect time, bottle feeding time for the lambs.  Let me introduce you to the delectable Snowy, (my disembodied arm giving him his much-needed grub) – he was such a character, he made a bolt for us the second he was let out.  His wool was so thick, fluffy and soft – I was tempted to offer to borrow it and knit him up a waistcoat, but for once I had to put my woolly tendencies on hold!

 

IMG_0654

 

We then met the donkeys and ponies, many of them rescued.  As well as horses, donkey, ponies and lambs, they have a wide variety of other animals and have activities throughout the day.  Just follow the chap ringing the bell…

 

IMG_0665  IMG_0655

 

IMG_0657

 

 

I do rather like the fact that this final picture includes a tiny pony or two seeming to stand on top of another rather small pony.  That makes my random little brain very amused!

Happy crafting…

 

Lou x

 

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

