Uncategorized

My First Week on Etsy

Well, this week has certainly been a learning curve…

I spent quite a lot of time prior to signing up with Etsy, planning and preparing my site…  And it seems like the work has not been in vain…

Within my first 24 hours on Etsy I had my first sale – one of my scarves (see below!).  I so enjoyed packaging it up prettily and sending it off within a day, that I didn’t give a thought to photographing my packaging.

IMG_0038

However, I had a few issues with sending the scarf out via the Post Office (confirming my belief that the Post Office and Royal Mail should never have been privatised) when they delivered my package back to me as the sender.  Normally a very calm person, I was spitting feathers!  I assumed that they would rectify the situation for me, but apparently now the Post Office and Royal Mail are two separate companies, who barely talk to each other, despite working in close proximity.

I had a vague apology from the Royal Mail (whose fault it was) but I must admit I am not impressed and am going to look into the alternatives.  In the UK we have a lot of couriers but the Post Office/Royal Mail are our main delivery route so my options may be limited.

This did not dampen my good spirits for long, as I had a lovely email from my customer saying that she was thrilled with her scarf and the little extra treat which I had put in there.  Thankfully when ‘reposted’ it arrived the next day, so no harm done, but not the best way to start…

I have signed up for an Etsy email class on making the best of my shop and have some work to do on my Halloween and Christmas items, so I had better cracking…

Happy weekend everyone!

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “My First Week on Etsy

Say, or say not... There is no try.

