craft, music

Apart from crafting, one of my other passions is music.  I have a rather eclectic taste from indie rock to classical and everything in between (except Country Music which I can’t abide!)

When I’m sitting down to craft my taste varies even more – sometimes I need to concentrate with a deadline coming up and at other times I’m just crafting for pure relaxation.  At the moment these are the top tunes that are firing my creativity…

  1. Morcheeba – Big Calm – the singer has a wonderfully soulful voice, this is gorgeous trip-hop-pop.  It’s very relaxing so no good for the run-up to a craft fair!
  2. Muse – Showbiz – one of the biggest bands in the world, one of my few regrets in life is that I have not yet had the chance to see them live in concert.  It’s quite loud and speedy so good for times when I was under pressure.
  3. The Streets – Original Pirate Material – I’m not a big fan of garage/hip-hop but Mike Skinner et al have a wickedly funny way with words and an ear for a great tune.  Not one for the kids though as it’s a bit sweary in places!
  4. Tracy Chapman – Tracy Chapman – when I saw her televised performance at the Nelson Mandela Concert, like many, I was astounded by her presence and vulnerability.  She has such a strong moral compass and, like me. is governed by a sense of justice.
  5. John Grant – Queen of Denmark – the richest baritone voice, a wry, witty intelligence and a cult following.  I almost don’t want to share him!
  6. DJ Shadow – Endtroducing – low-key instrumental hip-hop and great background listening which doesn’t disturb my concentration on complex tasks.
  7. The Bluetones – Expecting to Fly – a seminal indie debut album – tuneful with glorious harmonies.
  8. Tricky – Maxinquaye – more trip-hop – a very funky record with sharp, clever lyrics and rhythms which don’t age.  Some very fruity language so perhaps not for the faint-hearted!
  9. Any classical music – although I love Opera it’s too disturbing to attempt to sing along – so classical music is a safer bet, especially if I am writing or proof-reading.  One of my favourites is Grieg – In the Hall of the Mountain King.
  10. Sigur Ros – Takk – this is a wonderful Icelandic band who saw me through my Nursing degree. Their song Hoppipolla (translated as ‘jumping into puddles’) is used on just about every natural history programme on the BBC.  A truly beautiful album which is almost exactly an hour long, so it is perfect to schedule in exact chunks of work.

These are my favourites at the moment, but it is always subject to change!

Lou

Music to Make Crafts By

Aside

Say, or say not... There is no try.

