craft, crochet, knitting, yarn

Works in Progress and Stash Love

I’ve been very busy with some projects for friends and family, which has been great relaxation, as the weather has been grotty for ages and I’ve had a nasty cold…

First up are a really fun couple of projects for my friend Donna and her new baby, wee Olly.  This baby blanket is my first large self-designed project – it is cot/pram sized and I’m so thrilled with the design and how it has turned out, so I will be giving it to them in the next week or so.  I had enough left of the gorgeously soft Drops Merino Extrafine DK to make a quick pair of baby booties.

Thankfully I made them sized for around 6 months old – at only 8 weeks I thought he might have to wait a while to wear them, but Donna has said that he’s already in 3-6 months clothes, so he may get use of them sooner rather than later…

IMG_0256

IMG_0254

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next the ongoing project for my brother, I didn’t quite finish it for Christmas!  I hadn’t done any knitting for a while and I’m still pretty slow.  But it’s coming along finally, now I’ve finished my other projects…  I love the combination of bright, medium and dark reds in this Katia Basic Merino Flash DK.  The design is reversible – Half Moon Stitch – and looks great.

 

IMG_0257

 

Now these projects are either done yarn, (or very nearly dusted!) I’ve been on another couple of trips to reinvigorate my stash.  It is impossible to resist when passing a yarn shop, or browsing online on Deramores or Wool Warehouse.

I bought the Noro Kureyon and Noro A La Mode (both Aran/Worsted) at my favourite yarn shop, Marmalade Yarns in Frome.  I have a particular project in mind for this but won’t say too much as I might spoil someone’s surprise!

I bought some Malabrigo Merino Worsted to make Mum’s scarf for Christmas (which I haven’t got a picture of yet but she has promised!) so I bought an extra couple of skeins to make something for myself.  As yet, I haven’t made myself anything so I think it’s about time I got started on this!

Next up is some Jillybean yarn from Marmalade Yarns – this lovely red wool is called Yabbadabbadoo and as it is made in such small quantities and not marked up but it seems to be a DK sort of weight.  At 60% organic Shetland and 40% Mohair it seems quite robust and yet soft.

Finally a quick visit yesterday to Marmalade Yarns (again!) I could not resist these beautiful blues by Fyberspates – Scrumptious 4ply/sport weight 55% Merino, 45% Silk but machine washable.

So I think I had better get making!

IMG_0249 IMG_0251 IMG_0252 IMG_0253

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

