craft, crochet, knitting, nature, spring, Uncategorized

Spring Crafting the House

Much as I love Winter, taking down the Christmas decorations is always a sad time – I usually make a big effort with my two mantelpieces, which seem to look bare and a bit sorry for themselves when the festive season is over.

This year, I decided I would do something about this (as opposed to just moaning about it…)

So, I resolved to make a seasonal display of my living room mantelpiece for each season.  I have started with Spring – there’s still a bit of work to do but it’s a start!  My friend’s Mum found the deserted nest in her garden (don’t worry – she waited several years for someone to claim it but they never did)

IMG_0263IMG_0264

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0265

IMG_0266

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a bit of an eclectic mix and I feel it needs some handmade / crochet loveliness to jazz it up a bit, but it’s a start!

I can never do anything by halves, so I then cleared my new shelf (opposite the mantelpiece) and decided to make this British woodland scene (which will be permanent but with perhaps some seasonal visitors…)

IMG_0258IMG_0259

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0260

I have some work on the set-up of this to do, but I think the foxes kit which Mum bought me from Kidsonroof works really well in this setting.  Apologies for the picture quality – it is very overcast today so even my ‘proper’ camera struggled to take a clear image!

IMG_0261

IMG_0262

 

My little crochet Toadstool looks sweet but a little lost on the impromptu wood stumps, again a few additions are needed so I think I should get crafting…

What would you like to see added to the scene?

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

