crochet, sewing, Uncategorized

Cheeky Presents for Funny People

I had great fun this weekend, giving some cheeky little presents which I had made, to my lovely friends, Kerry, Des and Tilly, who I haven’t seen for ages…

I decided to be quite adventurous and make Des a crocheted Death Star – that evil Star Wars space station – thanks to the amazing pattern from Pops de Milk – I was quite pleased how well it came out, and I may just have enough yarn to make myself one as well.  I didn’t half get some funny looks on the train when I was finishing the stitching!

 

Next up is Kerry – who, not exclusively within their household, has an unnatural love of trumping (farting, blowing-off, passing wind, whatever you wish to call it!)

I found an old book of cross-stitch alphabets and decided to use one of the most pretty designs with one of the rudest sentiments.  A nice juxtaposition…

IMG_20160312_140923

Finally, Tilly is apparently obsessed by Adventure Time – an animation series I have never seen, and she particularly likes two characters, Jake and Finn.  I meant to make both figures but Jake took so long I had to stop there!  Perhaps on my next visit she will have a matching pair…

You would not believe how difficult it is to make a figure which you are unfamiliar with, especially when he has a surprising number of ‘parts’ (not being rude there, for once!).

All of the prezzies were happily received and gave me the chance to practice some skills I haven’t used for many years, I may have to make some more subversive pieces for my own amusement…  Or maybe even on my Etsy shop.

What phrases (cheeky or not!) would you like to see hanging on your walls?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Cheeky Presents for Funny People

  1. I loved everything about this post! Your stitching is wonderful and you’ve reminded me of that fun craft (years ago I embroidered a knife onto a kitchen towel with the words “Don’t make me cut you” lol). Also, thank you so much for sharing you’re death star, it looks amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thanks Patricia for your kind comments! I can certainly say your pattern is wonderful, and I’m really tempted to start on one for myself. In my years of crafting I’ve never made myself anything, so your Death Star will be a first! And I love the sound of your cheeky tea-towel!

      Like

Say, or say not... There is no try.

