Uncategorized

30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 4

So on to Day 4!

Day 4: How did you learn how to knit?

Firstly I taught myself to knit using the brilliant book Knitty Gritty – The First Steps, by Aneeta Patel. Β Her instructions were clear and easy to follow and I enjoyed making my first project.

I then found that there were things which I felt I needed some extra tuition in – and still do! – like mistakes and unknitting to get back to a previous mistake.

My local haberdashery, Fabric Magic, runs a wide range of workshops, so I decided to try out a few courses. Β My first one was knitting for beginners, which was excellent and when the tutor pointed out that I had been holding my needles all wrong, it was a surprise but I soon got it right and thankfully it was more comfortable (I had been holding both needles like a knife and fork).

I then tried an advanced beginners course and one on cables. Β I haven’t been to one for a long time and feel I need to upskill more (especially on mistakes which I am still not too confident about).

Occasionally I use YouTube to gain extra information or skills about a particular stitch or how to achieve a look that I like…

Throughout this time I have also been given advice left, right and centre – even at work, when I was knitting in my lunch break!

 

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

