Uncategorized

30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 8

On to week two…

Day 8: What’s your most challenging project?

This is probably the hardest question so far!  I find knitting much more challenging than crochet although I learnt to knit before I tried crochet…

There are many things that I struggle with – cables, ‘unknitting’ any mistakes, some types of increasing and decreasing, particularly KFB (knit front and back) and until I learnt different types of casting on, I was always disappointed with the scruffy, baggy cast on!

All in all, my most challenging project was this hot water bottle cover (again an Aneeta Patel pattern for beginners) – as you can see the edges are bit jagged and I spent the whole project having to put in a safety line of yarn as I kept making mistakes and having to unravel!

It starts off with a moss stitch flap and goes up and over through stocking stitch and moss stitch.  And as for the hideous flower (I was just practising my new crochet skills)…  Urgh!

2014-03-08 15.29.45

I did manage to rescue it by creating some unusual pretty white crochet flowers and circling them around the dodgy joins – it now looks so much better but sadly I haven’t got a photo, as I gave it to a friend who loved it so much…

Safe to say I didn’t make another one, but it could be much better if I tried again – maybe it is time to exorcise that demon!

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

