Uncategorized

30 Day Knitting Challenge – Days 29-30

 

So a little late, but here are my last two days on the knitting challenge, I have really enjoyed making myself write more often, and will try to keep up with at least one or two a week…

Day 29: Do you have any tips, or things that you’ve learned from knitting?

Definitely get some lessons…  If not from a family member then a local haberdashery – I did get some, but could do with more!

Also start with Acrylic yarn, as it’s cheap and reasonably easy to knit with- but move on and sample different types of yarn.  I think it’s such a shame to see something so beautiful and that has taken you a lot of time (i.e a blanket or fine scarf) that is 100% acrylic…

It’s never as nice to wear, and natural fibres have such wonderful warming or cooling qualities.  If you’re worried about shrinkage, many can be washed, especially if mixed with a bit of acrylic.

Lastly, which links in well with the final question – seek out inspiration using Pinterest, Instagram and Ravelry – don’t bother paying for patterns unless you find something you really love, as many of them are free…

Day 30: What’s your name on Ravelry? If you don’t have a Ravelry account, why?

I’m on Ravelry as ChesterBunnynuts – come and seek me out!

I love Ravelry, I keep a track of my stash (which frightens me when I work out how many skeins I have in hand!)   I keep a track of the cost of yarns, to help me work out prices when I am making something for my Etsy shop, and put pictures on to remind me of yarns I liked, struggled with or would use again if I had a chance.

As mentioned above, the patterns are great for inspiration and you can even find fellow yarnistas to set up a group with similar likes.

All in all I think Ravelry is amazing!

Standard

Say, or say not... There is no try.

